About Us
Our Team


 

The Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies in the University of Michigan Medical School is committed to offering graduate students, postdoctoral trainees, and post-baccalaureate participants rigorous curriculum and active guidance so that they can accomplish professional growth, a balanced quality of life, and successful careers in the field of biomedical sciences.

Kate Barald, PhD
Director of PREP

Kate Barald, PhD

kfbarald@umich.edu

Kate has been the Director of the NIH and UM supported post-baccalaureate program, PREP, since 2009,…


Profile
Scott Barolo, PhD
Director of PIBS

Scott Barolo, PhD

sbarolo@umich.edu
Reginald Beasley, MA
Admissions and Diversity Coordinator

Reginald Beasley, MA

rebeasle@umich.edu

Reginald is the Admissions and Diversity Coordinator for OGPS, which means he organizes DEI efforts…


Profile
Jessica Chen
Social Media Intern

Jessica Chen

chenjess@umich.edu

Jessica is a PIBS Neuroscience Graduate Program student and serves as OGPS’s Social Media and Commun…


Profile
Michelle DiMondo, MA
Academic Affairs and Trainee Success Coordinator

Michelle DiMondo, MA

mdimondo@umich.edu

Michelle serves as the Coordinator for Academic Affairs and Trainee Success in the Graduate and Post…


Profile
Maggie Evans, PhD
Career & Professional Development Coordinator

Maggie Evans, PhD

maggieev@umich.edu

Maggie develops and coordinates career and professional development offerings for postdoctoral fello…


Profile
Catherine Garber
Marketing and Communications Specialist

Catherine Garber

clgarber@umich.edu

Catherine manages the marketing and communication initiatives for the Office of Graduate and Postdoc…


Profile
Lisa Gubaci
Administrative Director

Lisa Gubaci

gubaci@umich.edu

Lisa provides administrative oversight and leadership for the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral St…


Profile
Nicole Koropatkin, PhD
Associate Director, Program in Biomedical Sciences

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

nkoropat@umich.edu

Nicole is one of the PIBS Associate Directors and acts as head of the first year “T house” PIBS comm…


Profile
Michelle Melis
Academic and HR Coordinator

Michelle Melis

msmtegan@umich.edu

Michelle M. has been associated with PIBS from it’s first year in 1999. In that time, she has gained…


Profile
Kathryn Melvin, MSc
Office Manager

Kathryn Melvin, MSc

kamelvin@umich.edu

Kathryn immigrated to the US in 2016 and has been with OGPS since September 2017. She provides suppo…


Profile
Jim Musgrave, MA
Director of Graduate Admissions & Recruitment

Jim Musgrave, MA

jdmusg@umich.edu

Jim oversees the strategic recruitment and admissions processes for all programs in OGPS. He enjoys…


Profile
Mary O’Riordan, PhD
Associate Dean

Mary O’Riordan, PhD

oriordan@umich.edu
Steven Pejuán, L.M.S.W.
Graduate Program Coordinator, Postbac MEDPREP

Steven Pejuán, L.M.S.W.

spejuan@med.umich.edu
Aaron Reifler, PhD
Postdoctoral Coordinator

Aaron Reifler, PhD

reiflera@umich.edu

Aaron serves all those involved in postdoctoral training within Michigan Medicine as Coordinator of…


Profile
Jessica Schwartz, PhD
Director of Training Grants

Jessica Schwartz, PhD

jeschwar@med.umich.edu

As Director of the Office of Training Grant Support, Dr. Schwartz draws on her extensive experience…


Profile
Shoba Subramanian, PhD
Director of Curriculum and Education

Shoba Subramanian, PhD

shobas@umich.edu

Shoba holds a PhD from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) and completed her postdoctoral training at U…


Profile
Michele Swanson, PhD
Director of Postdoctoral Studies

Michele Swanson, PhD

mswanson@umich.edu
Matt Wishart, PhD
Director of Postbac MEDPREP

Matt Wishart, PhD

mwishart@umich.edu
 

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Sign up for more information about: