About Us
Our Team


 

The Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies in the University of Michigan Medical School is committed to offering graduate students, postdoctoral trainees, and post-baccalaureate participants rigorous curriculum and active guidance so that they can accomplish professional growth, a balanced quality of life, and successful careers in the field of biomedical sciences.

Kate Barald, PhD
Director of PREP

Kate Barald, PhD

kfbarald@umich.edu

Kate has been the Director of the NIH and UM supported post-baccalaureate program, PREP, since 2009,…


Profile
Scott Barolo, PhD
Director of PIBS

Scott Barolo, PhD

sbarolo@umich.edu
Beth Bodiya, MA
Postdoc Coordinator

Beth Bodiya, MA

ebodiya@umich.edu

Beth serves as a resource for postdoctoral fellows in the Medical School. Her goal is to support pos…


Profile
Ellen KW Brennan
Social Media Intern

Ellen KW Brennan

ewixted@umich.edu

Ellen is a Neurosciences Graduate Program student and serves as one of OGPS’s Social Media Interns….


Profile
Kevin Calhoun
Office Manager

Kevin Calhoun

kacalh@umich.edu

Kevin Calhoun is the Office Manager in the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. He oversees…


Profile
Maggie (Evans) Gardner, PhD
Career & Professional Development Coordinator

Maggie (Evans) Gardner, PhD

maggieev@umich.edu

Maggie develops and coordinates career and professional development offerings for postdoctoral fello…


Profile
Lisa Gubaci
Administrative Director

Lisa Gubaci

gubaci@umich.edu

Lisa provides administrative oversight and leadership for the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral St…


Profile
Kate Hagadone, PhD, LP
Mental Health & Wellness Counselor

Kate Hagadone, PhD, LP

hagadone@med.umich.edu

Kate is a fully licensed psychologist with experience working with students, trainees, faculty, and…


Profile
Reginald Hammond Jr
Program Manager for Academic Affairs, Trainee Success and DEI

Reginald Hammond Jr

reginham@umich.edu

Reginald serves as the Coordinator for Academic Affairs and Trainee Success in the Graduate and Post…


Profile
Nicole Koropatkin, PhD
Associate Director, PIBS

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

nkoropat@umich.edu

Nicole is one of the PIBS Associate Directors and acts as head of the first year “T house” PIBS comm…


Profile
Michelle Melis
Academic and HR Coordinator

Michelle Melis

msmtegan@umich.edu

Michelle M. has been associated with PIBS from it’s first year in 1999. In that time, she has gained…


Profile
Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska
Associate Director, PIBS

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska

zanetan@umich.edu

Dr. Nikolovska-Coleska is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology, and is currently se…


Profile
Mary O’Riordan, PhD
Associate Dean

Mary O’Riordan, PhD

oriordan@umich.edu
Steven Pejuán, L.M.S.W.
Academic Advisor/Coordinator, Postbac MEDPREP Program

Steven Pejuán, L.M.S.W.

spejuan@med.umich.edu

Steve serves at the Academic Advisor for Postbac MEDPREP students. He joined OGPS in April 2017 afte…


Profile
Jessica Schwartz, PhD
Director of Training Grant Support

Jessica Schwartz, PhD

jeschwar@med.umich.edu

As Director of the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies Training Grant Support Team, Dr. Schw…


Profile
T.J. Shannon
Graduate Enrollment Coordinator

T.J. Shannon

tjshanno@umich.edu

T.J. provides strategic development and implementation of the full range of trainee recruitment and…


Profile
Shoba Subramanian, PhD
Director of Curriculum and Education

Shoba Subramanian, PhD

shobas@umich.edu

Shoba holds a PhD from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) and completed her postdoctoral training at U…


Profile
Michele Swanson, PhD
Director of Postdoctoral Studies

Michele Swanson, PhD

mswanson@umich.edu
Anne Vojtek, PhD
Associate Director, PIBS

Anne Vojtek, PhD

avojtek@med.umich.edu

Anne is an Associate Director of the Program in Biomedical Sciences. She serves as head of the PIBS…


Profile
Matthew Wishart, PhD
Director of Postbac MEDPREP

Matthew Wishart, PhD

mwishart@med.umich.edu

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Sign up for more information about: