PhD


OGPS has a team of support staff, program directors, and academic advisors ready to help you pursue a career path of your choosing as you continue your academic growth. From initial course selection, to exploring certificates and dual degrees, and finding a postdoc, we are here for you!

PIBS Contacts

Scott Barolo, PhD

Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “G house”

Email: sbarolo@umich.edu

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “T house”

Email: nkoropat@umich.edu 

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “C House”

Email: zanetan@umich.edu 

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “A house”

Email: avojtek@umich.edu 

PhD Program Contacts

Margit Burmeister, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Research Professor in Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Professor of Computation Medicine and Bioinformatics, Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Psychiatry

Email: margit@umich.edu 

Maureen Sartor, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Computations Medicine and Bioinformatics, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Faculty Bioinformatics Director

Email: sartorma@umich.edu 

Julia Eussen

Graduate Program Coordinator, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Email: dcmb-gradbioinfo@med.umich.edu

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Director, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: avojtek@med.umich.edu

 

Beth Goodwin

Graduate Program Coordinator, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Email: egoodwin@umich.edu

David Lombard, MD, PhD

Director, Cancer Biology Doctoral Program

Associate Professor of Pathology 

Email: davidlom@umich.edu 

 

Dawn Storball, LLMSW

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cancer Biology Graduate Program

Email: dawneche@umich.edu

Roman Giger, PhD

Co-Graduate Chair, Cell & Developmental Biology Program

Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology, Professor of Neurology

Email: rgiger@umich.edu 

Ryoma “Puck” Ohi, PhD

Co-Graduate Chair, Cell & Developmental Biology

Associate Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: oryoma@umich.edu

 

Kristen Hug

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: mkhug@umich.edu

Manoj Puthenveedu, PhD

Program Director, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Associate Professor of Pharmacology

Email: puthenve@umich.edu

Ben Allen, PhD

Associate Program Director, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: benallen@umich.edu

 

Marina Pasca di Magliano, PhD

Program Chair, Cellular & Molecular Biology

Professor, Cell and Developmental Biology

Email:marinapa@umich.edu

Jeff Kidd, PhD

Associate Chair for Education, Department of Human Genetics

Associate Professor of Human Genetics
Associate Professor of Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics

Email: jmkidd@umich.edu

 

Molly Martin

Graduate Program Coordinator, Genetics and Genomics Program

Email: mollymu@umich.edu

Gretchen Piatt, MPH, PhD

Associate Director, Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Associate Professor of Learning Health Sciences, Associate Professor of Health Behavior & Health Education

Email: piattg@umich.edu

Beth Hill

Graduate Program Coordinator, HILS

Email: bethhill@umich.edu

 

Malini Raghavan, PhD

Interim Graduate Chair, Immunology Graduate Program

Professor of Microbiology & Immunology

Email: malinir@umich.edu

 

Durga Singer, M.D., M.A.

Associate Chair, Immunology Graduate Program

Assistant Professor in Pediatric Endocrinology

Email: ksinger@umich.edu

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

Graduate Chair, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Assistant Professor in Microbiology & Immunology, PIBS Associate Director

Email: nkoropat@umich.edu

 

Heidi Thompson

Graduate Program Coordinator, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Email: heiditho@umich.edu

Lyle Simmons, PhD

Associate Graduate Chair, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: lasimm@umich.edu 

 

Mary Carr

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: carrmm@umich.edu 

 

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Director, Molecular and Cellular Pathology Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor in Molecular and Cellular Pathology

Email: zanetan@umich.edu

 

Laura Labut

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Email: laszczem@umich.edu 

Susan Brooks Herzog, PhD

Program Chair, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Email: svbrooks@umich.edu

 

Daniel Beard, PhD

Associate Graduate Chair, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor in Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor in Internal Medicine

Email: beardda@umich.edu

 

Michele Boggs

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Email: mboggs@umich.edu 

Arun Anantharam, PhD

Interim Co-Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Pharmacology, Associate Professor of Biophysics

Email: arunanan@umich.edu 

Audrey Seasholtz, PhD

Interim Co-Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Professor, Biological Chemistry, Research Professor, Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience Institute

Email: aseashol@umich.edu 

Rachel Harbach

Graduate Program Coordinator, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Email: neuroscience.program@umich.edu 

Margaret Gnegy, PhD

Graduate Co-Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Email: pgnegy@umich.edu

 

Emily Jutkiewicz, PhD

Graduate Co-Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Email: pgnegy@umich.edu

 

Liz Oxford

Graduate Program Coordinator, Department of Pharmacology

Email: oxforda@umich.edu