PhD


OGPS has a team of support staff, program directors, and academic advisors ready to help you pursue a career path of your choosing as you continue your academic growth. From initial course selection, to exploring certificates and dual degrees, and finding a postdoc, we are here for you!

PIBS Contacts

Scott Barolo, PhD

Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “G house”

Email: sbarolo@umich.edu

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “T house”

Email: nkoropat@umich.edu 

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “C House”

Email: zanetan@umich.edu 

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “A house”

Email: avojtek@umich.edu 

Michelle Dimondo, MA

Academic Affairs & Trainee Success Coordinator

Email: mdimondo@umich.edu

PhD Program Contacts

Margit Burmeister, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Research Professor in Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Professor of Computation Medicine and Bioinformatics, Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Psychiatry

Email: margit@umich.edu 

Maureen Sartor, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Computations Medicine and Bioinformatics, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Faculty Bioinformatics Director

Email: sartorma@umich.edu 

Julia Eussen

Graduate Program Coordinator, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Email: gradbioinfo@med.umich.edu

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Director, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: avojtek@med.umich.edu

 

Beth Goodwin

Graduate Program Coordinator, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Email: egoodwin@umich.edu

Michal Zochowski

Acting Graduate Program Chair, Biophysics

Associate Director, Professor of Biophysics & Physics

Email: michalz@umich.edu

Sara Grosky

Graduate Program Coordinator, Biophysics Graduate Program

Email: saramin@umich.edu

David Lombard, MD, PhD

Director, Cancer Biology Doctoral Program

Associate Professor of Pathology 

Email: davidlom@umich.edu 

 

Dawn Storball, LLMSW

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cancer Biology Graduate Program

Email: dawneche@umich.edu

Bob Fuller, PhD

Graduate Chair, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: bfuller@umich.edu

 

Kathy Collins, PhD

Associate Graduate Chair, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Professor of Internal Medicine

Email: klcollin@umich.edu

 

Ben Allen, PhD

Associate Graduate Chair, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: benallen@umich.edu

 

Patricia Ocelnik

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cellular & Molecular Biology

Email: cmbgrad@umich.edu

Roman Giger, PhD

Co-Graduate Chair, Cell & Developmental Biology Program

Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology, Professor of Neurology

Email: rgiger@umich.edu 

Ryoma Ohi, PhD

Co-Graduate Chair, Cell & Developmental Biology

Associate Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: oryoma@umich.edu

 

Kristen Hug

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: mkhug@umich.edu

Anthony Antonellis, PhD

Director, Genetics and Genomics Program

Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Neurology

Email: antonell@umich.edu

 

Molly Martin

Graduate Program Coordinator, Genetics and Genomics Program

Email: mollymu@umich.edu

Anne Sales, PhD, RN

Director, Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Professor in Division of Learning and Knowledge Systems, Professor of Nursing, Department of Systems, Populations & Leadership

Email: salesann@umich.edu 

 

Gretchen Piatt, MPH, PhD

Associate Director, Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Associate Professor of Learning Health Sciences, Associate Professor of Health Behavior & Health Education

Email: piattg@umich.edu

Beth Hill

Graduate Program Coordinator, HILS

Email: bethhill@umich.edu

 

Gary Huffnagle, PhD

Interim Co-Graduate Chair, Immunology Graduate Program

Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Professor of Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email:  ghuff@umich.edu

 

Malini Raghavan, PhD

Interim Co-Graduate Chair, Immunology Graduate Program

Professor of Microbiology & Immunology

Email: malinir@umich.edu

 

Zarinah Aquil

Graduate Program Coordinator, Immunology Graduate Program

Email: zaquil@umich.edu

Eric Martens, PhD

Co-Graduate Chair, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Microbiology & Immunology

Email: emartens@umich.edu 

 

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

Co-Graduate Chair, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Assistant Professor in Microbiology & Immunology, PIBS Associate Director

Email: nkoropat@umich.edu 

 

Heidi Thompson

Graduate Program Coordinator, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Email: heiditho@umich.edu

Lyle Simmons, PhD

Associate Graduate Chair, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: lasimm@umich.edu 

 

Mary Carr

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: carrmm@umich.edu 

 

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Director, Molecular and Cellular Pathology Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor in Molecular and Cellular Pathology

Email: zanetan@umich.edu

 

Laura Labut

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Email: laszczem@umich.edu 

Daniel Michele, PhD

Graduate Chair, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor in Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor in Internal Medicine

Email: dmichele@umich.edu 

 

Susan Brooks Herzog, PhD

Faculty Advisor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Email: svbrooks@umich.edu

 

Michele Boggs

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Email: mboggs@umich.edu 

Les Satin, PhD

Interim Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Professor of Pharmacology, Professor of Internal Medicine

Email: lsatin@umich.edu

Ivo Dinov, PhD

Associate Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Professor of Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics

Email: dinov@umich.edu 

Sara Aton, PhD

Associate Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Assistant Professor of Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Email: saton@med.umich.edu 

Rachel Harbach

Graduate Program Coordinator, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Email: neuroscience.program@umich.edu 

Margaret Gnegy, PhD

Graduate Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Email: pgnegy@umich.edu 

 

Emily Jutkiewicz, PhD

Associate Graduate Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Email: ejutkiew@umich.edu

 

Liz Oxford

Graduate Program Coordinator, Department of Pharmacology

Email: oxforda@umich.edu