PhD


OGPS has a team of support staff, program directors, and academic advisors ready to help you pursue a career path of your choosing as you continue your academic growth. From initial course selection, to exploring certificates and dual degrees, and finding a postdoc, we are here for you!

PIBS Contacts

Scott Barolo, PhD

Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “G house”

Email: sbarolo@umich.edu

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “T house”

Email: nkoropat@umich.edu 

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “C House”

Email: zanetan@umich.edu 

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “A house”

Email: avojtek@umich.edu 

Michelle Dimondo, MA

Academic Affairs & Trainee Success Coordinator

Email: mdimondo@umich.edu

PhD Program Contacts

Bioinformatics

Margit Burmeister, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Research Professor in Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Professor of Computation Medicine and Bioinformatics, Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Psychiatry

Email: margit@umich.edu 

Maureen Sartor, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Computations Medicine and Bioinformatics, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Faculty Bioinformatics Director

Email: sartorma@umich.edu 

Julia Eussen

Graduate Program Coordinator, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Email: gradbioinfo@med.umich.edu

Biological Chemistry

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Director, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: avojtek@med.umich.edu

 

Beth Goodwin

Graduate Program Coordinator, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Email: egoodwin@umich.edu

Biophysics

Sarah Veatch, PhD

Graduate Program Chair, Biophysics

Assistant Professor of Biophysics, Assistant Professor of Physics 

Email: sveatch@umich.edu

Sara Grosky

Graduate Program Coordinator, Biophysics Graduate Program

Email: saramin@umich.edu

Cancer Biology

David Lombard, MD, PhD

Director, Cancer Biology Doctoral Program

Associate Professor of Pathology 

Email: davidlom@umich.edu 

 

Dawn Storball, LLMSW

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cancer Biology Graduate Program

Email: dawneche@umich.edu

Cellular & Molecular Biology

Bob Fuller, PhD

Director, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: bfuller@umich.edu

 

Patricia Ocelnik

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cellular & Molecular Biology

Email: cmbgrad@umich.edu

Cell & Developmental Biology

Roman Giger, PhD

Director, Cell & Developmental Biology Program

Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology, Professor of Neurology

Email: rgiger@umich.edu 

Kristen Hug

Graduate Program Coordinator, Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: mkhug@umich.edu

Genetics and Genomics

Anthony Antonellis, PhD

Director, Genetics and Genomics Program

Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Neurology

Email: antonell@umich.edu

 

Molly Martin

Graduate Program Coordinator, Genetics and Genomics Program

Email: mollymu@umich.edu

Health Infrastructures & Learning Systems

Anne Sales, PhD, RN

Director of the Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Professor in Division of Learning and Knowledge Systems, Professor of Nursing, Department of Systems, Populations & Leadership

Email: salesann@umich.edu 

 

Gretchen Piatt, MPH, PhD

Associate Director of the Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Associate Professor of Learning Health Sciences, Associate Professor of Health Behavior & Health Education

Email: piattg@umich.edu

Beth Hill

Graduate Program Coordinator, HILS

Email: bethhill@umich.edu

 

Immunology

Beth Moore, PhD

Director, Immunology Graduate Program

Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Professor of Internal Medicine

Email: bmoore@umich.edu

 

Zarinah Aquil

Graduate Program Coordinator, Immunology Graduate Program

Email: zaquil@umich.edu

Microbiology & Immunology

Eric Martens, PhD

Director, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Microbiology & Immunology

Email: emartens@umich.edu 

 

Heidi Thompson

Graduate Program Coordinator, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Email: heiditho@umich.edu

Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Lyle Simmons, PhD

Associate Chair, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: lasimm@umich.edu 

 

Mary Carr

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: carrmm@umich.edu 

Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Director of Molecular and Cellular Pathology Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor in Microbiology & Immunology

Email: zanetan@umich.edu

 

Laura Labut

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Email: laszczem@umich.edu 

Molecular and Integrative Physiology

Daniel Michele, PhD

Graduate Program Chair, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor in Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor in Internal Medicine

Email: dmichele@umich.edu 

 

Susan Brooks Herzog, PhD

Faculty Advisor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Email: dmichele@umich.edu 

 

Michele Boggs

Graduate Program Coordinator, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Email: mboggs@umich.edu 

Neuroscience

Les Satin, PhD

Interim Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Professor of Pharmacology, Professor of Internal Medicine

Email: lsatin@umich.edu

Geoff Murphy, PhD

Associate Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Associate Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Email: murphyg@umich.edu

Sara Aton, PhD

Associate Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Assistant Professor of Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Email: saton@med.umich.edu 

Rachel Harbach

Graduate Program Coordinator, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Email: neuroscience.program@umich.edu 

Pharmacology

Lori Isom, PhD

Graduate Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Professor of Pharmacology, Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Professor of Neurology

Email: lisom@umich.edu 

Margaret Gnegy, PhD

Associate Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Email: pgnegy@umich.edu 

 

Liz Oxford

Graduate Program Coordinator, Department of Pharmacology

Email: oxforda@umich.edu