PhD


OGPS has a team of support staff, program directors, and academic advisors ready to help you pursue a career path of your choosing as you continue your academic growth. From initial course selection, to exploring certificates and dual degrees, and finding a postdoc, we are here for you!

PIBS Contacts

Scott Barolo, PhD

Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “G house”

Email: sbarolo@umich.edu

Nicole Koropatkin, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “T house”

Email: nkoropat@umich.edu 

Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “C House”

Email: zanetan@umich.edu 

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Associate Director of PIBS

Head of PIBS “A house”

Email: avojtek@umich.edu 

Michelle Dimondo, MA

Academic Affairs & Trainee Success Coordinator

Email: mdimondo@umich.edu

PhD Program Contacts

Bioinformatics

Margit Burmeister, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Research Professor in Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Professor of Computation Medicine and Bioinformatics, Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Psychiatry

Email: margit@umich.edu 

Maureen Sartor, PhD

Co-Director, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Computations Medicine and Bioinformatics, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Faculty Bioinformatics Director

Email: sartorma@umich.edu 

Julia Eussen

Student Service Representative, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Email: gradbioinfo@med.umich.edu 

Biological Chemistry

Anne Vojtek, PhD

Director, Biological Chemistry Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: avojtek@med.umich.edu

 

Beth Goodwin

Student Service Representative, Bioinformatics Graduate Program

Email: egoodwin@umich.edu 

Biophysics

Michal Zochowski, PhD

Associate Director, Biophysics Graduate Program

Professor of Biophysics & Physics

Email: michalz@umich.edu

 

Sarah Veatch, PhD

Faculty Advisor, Biophysics

Assistant Professor of Biophysics, Assistant Professor of Physics 

Email: sveatch@umich.edu 

Sara Grosky

Student Service Representative, Biophysics Graduate Program

Email: saramin@umich.edu 

Cancer Biology

David Lombard, MD, PhD

Director, Cancer Biology Doctoral Program

Associate Professor of Pathology 

Email: davidlom@umich.edu 

 

Dawn Storball, LLMSW

Student Service Representative, Cancer Biology Graduate Program

Email: dawneche@umich.edu 

Cellular & Molecular Biology

Bob Fuller, PhD

Director, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program

Professor of Biological Chemistry

Email: bfuller@umich.edu

 

Patricia Ocelnik

Student Service Representative, Cellular & Molecular Biology

Email: cmbgrad@umich.edu 

Cell & Developmental Biology

Roman Giger, PhD

Director, Cell & Developmental Biology Program

Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology, Professor of Neurology

Email: rgiger@umich.edu 

Kristen Hug

Student Service Representative, Cell & Developmental Biology

Email: mkhug@umich.edu 

Human Genetics

Anthony Antonellis, PhD

Director, Human Genetics Program

Professor of Human Genetics, Professor of Neurology

Email: antonell@umich.edu 

 

Molly Martin

Student Service Representative, Human Genetics Program

Email: mollymu@umich.edu 

Health Infrastructures & Learning Systems

Anne Sales, PhD, RN

Director of the Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Professor in Division of Learning and Knowledge Systems, Professor of Nursing, Department of Systems, Populations & Leadership

Email: salesann@umich.edu 

 

Gretchen Piatt, MPH, PhD

Associate Director of the Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems (HILS) Program

Associate Professor of Learning Health Sciences, Associate Professor of Health Behavior & Health Education

Email: piattg@umich.edu

Beth Hill

Student Affairs Program Manager, HILS

Email: bethhill@umich.edu 

 

Immunology

Beth Moore, PhD

Director, Immunology Graduate Program

Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Professor of Internal Medicine

Email: bmoore@umich.edu

 

Zarinah Aquil

Student Service Representative, Immunology Graduate Program

Email: zaquil@umich.edu 

Microbiology & Immunology

Eric Martens, PhD

Director, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Microbiology & Immunology

Email: emartens@umich.edu 

 

Heidi Thompson

Student Service Representative, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Email: heiditho@umich.edu 

Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Lyle Simmons, PhD

Associate Chair, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology Graduate Program

Associate Professor in Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: lasimm@umich.edu 

 

Mary Carr

Student Service Representative, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology

Email: carrmm@umich.edu 

Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Eric Martens, PhD

Director, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program

Associate Director of PIBS, Associate Professor in Microbiology & Immunology

Email: zanetan@umich.edu

 

Laura Labut

Student Service Representative, Molecular & Cellular Pathology

Email: laszczem@umich.edu 

Molecular and Integrative Physiology

Daniel Michele, PhD

Graduate Program Chair, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor in Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor in Internal Medicine

Email: dmichele@umich.edu 

 

Susan Brooks Herzog, PhD

Faculty Advisor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Email: dmichele@umich.edu 

 

Michele Boggs

Student Service Representative, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Email: mboggs@umich.edu 

Neuroscience

Audrey Seasholtz, PhD

Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Professor of Biological Chemistry, Research Professor of Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience 

Email: aseashol@umich.edu 

Geoff Murphy, PhD

Associate Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Associate Professor of Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Associate Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Email: murphyg@umich.edu

Sara Aton, PhD

Associate Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Assistant Professor of Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Email: saton@med.umich.edu 

Rachel Harbach

Student Service Representative, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Email: neuroscience.program@umich.edu 

Pharmacology

Lori Isom, PhD

Graduate Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Professor of Pharmacology, Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Professor of Neurology

Email: lisom@umich.edu 

Margaret Gnegy, PhD

Associate Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Email: pgnegy@umich.edu